|Rishon LeZion kindergarten (1898)|
credit: Rishon LeZion Museum
|Rishon's synagogue, built in|
1889. It looks very similar to
Zichron Ya'akov's synagogue
built in 1886. (circa 1898)
|Carmel Steet in Rishon, the|
winery is the large building
on the left, built around 1890
|Rishon's architect and his home|
View Rishon's Administration
building here (circa 1898)
|The winery's cellar (circa 1898)|
|Rishon (circa 1920)|
|Visit of British High Commissioner Herbert Samuel 1920|
View visit of Lord Balfour in 1925 here
According to the Library of Congress captions, the American Colony photos on this page were taken between 1898 and 1934. We suggest that many were taken closer to to 1898 because of the photographic methods (glass, stereograph) and the style of dress.
|"Children of Zion 1917" photo taken by a New Zealand|
soldier, Charles Bloomfield. "Jewish children and their
teachers assemble for a photograph in front of the
schoolhouse." Donated by Bloomfield's family in
2008 to the "New Zealand Mounted Rifles"
The following morning the village of Ayun Kara was reported clear of the enemy, and, with a company of “Camels” on the left and the 1st Light Horse on the right, the brigade moved forward towards Jaffa, meeting with no resistance.Click on photos to enlarge. Click on the captions to view the original pictures.
On the way they passed through the village of Richon le Zion, where for the first time they met Jews. One member of the community was a brother of Rabbi Goldstein, of Auckland. The joy of these people at being freed from the tyranny of the Turks was unbounded. They treated the New Zealanders most hospitably—an exceedingly pleasant experience after the tremendous effort they had just made, and the harsh hungry times spent in the south with its hostile Bedouins.